Make your own free website on Tripod.com
Th t m J R t vr

Home

HOW TO PLAY THE OUIJA BOARD
A HISTORY OF THE OUIJA BOARD
OUIJA BOARD DO'S AND DONT'S
THE OUIJA BOARD AND POSSESSION
A TRUE STORY OF DEMON POSSESSION
MY EXPERIENCE WITH THE OUIJA
VISITOR'S TRUE STORIES
EMAIL YOUR STORIES HERE
A HISTORY OF THE OUIJA BOARD

indicator.gif

oct-ouija-3.gif

In 1848, two sisters, Kate and Margaret Fox became celebrities by sucessfully contacting the spirit of a dead peddler in Hydersville New York. This sparked a national obsession with spiritualism that spread across seas to Europe. Spiritualism churches sprang up everywhere and people with this special gift were in high demand.
    The unique individuals with this special gift invented a variety of ways to communicate  with the dead. One of which was Table Tilting. People wishing to communicate would place their fingers lightly on the table. The spirits would communicate by tilting the table and tapping out messages.
   Soon, with the invention of the planchette ( a triangle shaped piece of wood with three legs and a pencil in the center.) messages were being spelled out. The participant would place their fingers lightly on the planchette and it would move spelling out messages.
   It wasn't very long before spirit communication was being improved upon again. The talking board was soon discovered. The talking board allowed the people to communicate with the spirits without any mediumistic training and didn't require skill or understanding. Soon a patent was filed by interested parties to invent a  new planchette similar to the original. The new plachette did not have a pencil in the center but rather a circular clear window.
   The patent, which listed Elijah J. Bond as the inventor was filed on May 28, 1890 and was granted February 10,1891. It also held the names of Charles W. Kennard and William H.A. Maupin of Baltimore M.O.The new board was called Ouija, pronounced WEE - JA after the Egyptian word for good luck.
   Soon Charles Kennard withdrew from the Ouija business and a former employ of his, William Fuld took over as the Ouija board producer. With the help of his business partner and brother, Isaac Fuld ,William manufactured  the Ouija in record numbers. His brother, however was fired after an investigation showed he had took place in accounting misconduct.
   As master of his new company,  Fuld made his first public relations gimmick by reinventing the history of the Ouija. He claimed that he himself had invented the talking board and that the name was actually taken from the French and German words for YES. He made many unlikely claims but it is not know if he actually took himself seriously.

                      

ouija.gif

From the beginning the Ouija suffered fierce competition from other toy makers but Fuld maintained his company through good times and bad for another 30 years. In February of 1927 William Fuld climbed to the the top of his Harford Street factory to supervise a flagpole replacement. A support pole that he was holding gave way and he fell backwards to his death. The man known as the father of the Ouija Board was dead.
    Fuld's children took over  his business but retired and sold to Parker Brothers  in 1966. They have held the patent every since. In 1999 Parker Brothers switched from the classic talking board to a smaller glow in the dark version dubbed with the slogan "Its only a game, isn't it?"
           

electronicouijaboard.jpg
An Electronic Ouija Board

OUIJA BOARD DO'S AND DONT'S